top of page

Sophie Williams

Learn More
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Sophie Williams

Designing sustainably

I have recently been working on a project with the office furniture company orangebox to try and tackle the idea of reusing their waste fabrics. I was initially drawn to the amount of textile waste fabric that was being unused which was around 1 ton a week which is a massive amount of fabric to incinerate throughout their manufacturing process, so as a result wanted to create something that incorporated a lot of the left-overs that could be reprocessed with multiple amounts of fabric and not just a one off design. With these off-cuts and remnants that I have used I will also be keeping the rugged forms and patterns already cut out of the fabrics to demonstrate negative shapes to show what they were before to create an innovative design for the sully stool from orangebox.

I would like to take this further into future projects because I think it is important to optimize the chances of upcoming products to be kept in the economy wherever possible when it reaches the end of its life rather than disposing them altogether, I feel that this is key to pursuing the ideas of the circular economy and becoming more sustainable.

In my work I have decided on the main body of the design to have a blue colour palette because during my research I encountered that the colour blue is often viewed as a non-threatening colour that can express feelings of calmness or serenity which I wanted to achieve through the idea of creating an outcome that compliments the health and wellbeing of the client.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe

Contact

67, Crymlyn Road
Skewen
SA10 6EG

07810682448

Home: Contact
bottom of page